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Nevada Prepaid Tuition  
Office of the State Treasurer 

555 East Washington Ave., Suite 4600 
Las Vegas, NV  89101 

 
NVPrepaid.gov 

 
702-486-2025 

 
Toll Free – 1-888-477-2667 

 
Fax – 702-486-3246 

 
Email:  PrepaidTuition@NevadaTreasurer.gov  

 

Fall 2012-13 Rates 
 
 

Per Credit Hour Rate of Disbursement 
(Fall, Spring and Summer) 

 
University Credit Hour:                 $171.00 
 
Upper Division – Community College (BA):    $123.50 

 Community College:      $  75.50 
  

For institutions offering programs by total clock 
hours, please contact the Prepaid Tuition Office for 
conversion to credit hour calculations. 
 
Rates are based on the credit hour cost set by the Nevada Board of Regents for 
Nevada institutions.  Rates will be adjusted to conform to rates set by the Board 
of Regents in future years. 
 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/
mailto:PrepaidTuition@NevadaTreasurer.gov
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HOW DO I BEGIN USING MY NEVADA PREPAID TUITION PROGRAM BENEFITS? 
 
When a student has selected a school and notifies the Nevada Prepaid Tuition Office 
(NPT) of their intent to enroll, Nevada Prepaid Tuition will begin the process of paying 
tuition to the selected institution.   
 
An Intent to Enroll Form is included with this handbook and must be received 60 days 
prior to enrollment.  All forms and program information are also available on our website 
NVPrepaid.gov.  The Intent to Enroll Form must be submitted to the NPT office in 
order to set up payments at a particular school; however, it is not binding to the 
institution the student has selected.  The student may change the school choice at any 
time prior to the beginning of a school semester.  If you change schools please contact 
the NPT, as a new Intent to Enroll Form will be required.  
 
A student only needs to submit an Intent to Enroll Form prior to the first semester 
at any school.  The Program will keep the existing form on file for future 
semesters or until you notify the Program otherwise.  
 
Failure to provide the required Intent to Enroll Form may result in a delay of 
processing payment to the school or cause the student to be administratively 
dropped from registered classes.   Your NPT contract must be paid in full, 
including any outstanding fees, before the contract can be used to pay any 
college or university. 
 
Please note: The Intent to Enroll Form authorizes the NPT office to disclose the 
student’s Social Security Number to the educational institution indicated on the form.  
This is necessary to ensure proper credit to your account at the school. 
 
If you do not plan to use your NPT benefits this year, please submit a Deferment of 
Benefits Form.   
 
 
WHAT SCHOOLS ARE ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE NPT PAYMENTS? 
 
The college or university you choose to attend is not limited to Nevada schools and may 
be any public, private, or out-of state institution that is eligible to participate in student 
financial aid programs under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 
(www.ed.gov/policy).   
 
To determine a school’s eligibility and obtain its federal school code you can search the 
Federal Student Aid website at www.fafsa.ed.gov or contact the school you plan to 
attend.  
 
 
WHAT DOCUMENTATION MUST I PROVIDE FOR NPT TO MAKE PAYMENTS TO A SCHOOL? 
 
Once the processing of your Intent to Enroll Form is complete, the billing office at the 
in-state community college or university you are attending will receive a list of eligible 
NPT beneficiaries for each fall and spring semester.  When you go through registration, 

http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
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please inform school officials that you are participating in Nevada Prepaid Tuition and 
the Program will be making payments on your behalf.  The school will process your 
name and information which will be used in their billing to the NPT Office. If the private 
or out-of-state school does not invoice NPT directly, you will need to provide a copy of 
your billing statement or class schedule showing the number of credits enrolled for the 
semester so that payment can be made to your school.  If a student transfers from one 
in-state Nevada institution to another in-state Nevada institution, the purchaser must 
submit a new Intent to Enroll Form to direct NPT payments to a different institution, 
there is no processing fee for this change. 
 
 
WHAT IF I ATTEND SCHOOL OUT-OF-STATE? 
 
You must notify the NPT office in writing 60 days in advance of the start of a semester 
by submitting an Intent to Enroll Form for an out-of-state college or university.  After 
the NPT office receives the Intent to Enroll Form, we will contact the institution to 
make arrangements for payment. 
 
During registration, you should contact your school’s billing office to establish invoicing 
procedures.  If the school does not have your NPT information when you register, 
please have the school contact NPT toll-free at 1-888-477-2667.  You are responsible 
for letting the school billing office know of any arrangements made with NPT and that 
they should send an invoice to NPT on your behalf. 
 
NPT will then pay the school directly after receipt of the invoice.  NPT will transfer to the 
out-of-state school the same amount that would have been paid to a Nevada in-state 
institution.  You are required to pay the school any difference in tuition that exceeds the 
amount NPT will pay on your behalf.  
 
There is a $25 one-time per institution, Private or Out-of-State, Processing Fee 
that will be billed directly to you for the processing of first semester payments to 
any private or out-of-state school.  If the processing fee is not paid, it may result 
in delayed payment for the term, and the school may assess late fees or 
administratively drop you from your classes.  The fee of $25 must be paid each 
time you transfer to a new private/out-of-state school. 
 
 
WHAT IF I ATTEND A SCHOOL THAT REQUESTS PAYMENTS BASED ON CLOCK HOURS INSTEAD OF 

SEMESTER CREDIT HOURS? 
 
When a beneficiary chooses to attend a Nevada independent (private) or out-of-state 
institution, college or university, NPT will make payments based on the current cost of 
credit hours under the contract.  When payments are requested for courses based on 
clock hours, the clock hours will be converted to credit hours according to the Federal 
Student Aid Guidelines.  The billing institution must provide NPT with the clock hours for 
the course.  The contract may not cover the full cost of credit hours and the student will 
be required to pay the difference beyond their contract benefits.  If you plan to attend a 
clock hour program, please contact the NPT office for conversion information. 
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WHEN WILL NPT MAKE PAYMENTS TO MY SCHOOL? 
 
The in-state schools will bill NPT each semester once the add/drop period has ended.  
All credit hours billed will be deducted from your account. 
 
Private and out-of-state schools are paid when the NPT office receives an invoice from 
the school or student.  
 
The annual NPT statement sent at the beginning of each year provides information on 
how many credit hours have been deducted from the contract.  Please check this 
statement to ensure accuracy.  If corrections need to be made, or if you have any 
questions about the statement, please contact us toll-free at 1-888-477-2667.  Please 
monitor your credit hours available for use on your contract and ensure that the 
NPT is not billed in excess of your total contract, as this can cause delays in 
processing.  You will need to report any shortage of credit hours to the school. 
Once you have expended the credit hours available on your total contract, the 
student is responsible for all additional credit hours and costs. 
 
 
IS NPT MEASURED IN ACADEMIC YEARS OR CREDIT HOURS? 
 
NPT benefits are measured in credit hours.   

 The four-year university plan is 120 credit hours;  

 The two-year university plan is 60 credit hours;  

 The one-year university plan is 30 credit hours;  

 The two-year community college plan is 60 credit hours at the community 
college; and  

 The two-year community college/two-year university plan is 60 community 
college credit hours and 60 university credit hours.   

 
Students attending part-time may use their prepaid tuition credits over a period of six 
years from the projected enrollment year indicated in the contract.  Years in military 
service do not count toward the six-year contract expiration period. 
 
 
HOW DOES NPT MAKE PAYMENTS IF I ENROLL PART-TIME? 
 
Since NPT is based on credit hours, the payments will be based on the number of credit 
hours registered for each semester. 
 
 
I AM ELIGIBLE TO BEGIN USING MY NPT BENEFITS, BUT I AM NOT GOING TO COLLEGE RIGHT 

AWAY.  WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS? 
 
NPT benefits are available for six years following the beneficiary’s projected date of 
graduation from high school.  Exception is granted to men and women who are active 
duty members of the United States Armed Services or have been actively serving or 
participating in a charitable, religious or public service assignment or mission after the 
expected date of matriculation.  
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In this case, all time spent on active duty will be added to the six-year time restriction.  
Please submit a Deferment of Benefits Form to the NPT office.  No disbursements will 
be made until you submit an updated Intent to Enroll Form.  You may retrieve 
additional forms from our website: NVPrepaid.gov. 
 
 
HOW ARE PAYMENTS MADE? 
 
In most cases, your educational institution will bill NPT for credit hours on your behalf 
and we will make payments electronically directly to the school.  You will be required to 
pay any other charges and fees by the school’s deadline.  If your institution does not bill 
the NPT office directly, you will be responsible for providing an invoice or class schedule 
showing credit hours to NPT so that payment can be sent to your school. 
 
 
WHAT IF I WITHDRAW AFTER THE ADD/DROP DATE? 
 
If you decide to withdraw from school after the registration period has ended, but before 
classes begin, you must notify the billing office at your school so that your contract will 
not be billed.  Otherwise, payment will be made to the school and these credit hours will 
be deducted from your account.  You will be responsible for paying any fees associated 
with withdrawing from school.  There will not be an adjustment to your account for credit 
hours dropped after an invoice has been paid by NPT.  Any refund under these 
circumstances will be between you and the school. 
 
 
HOW MUCH WILL NPT PAY IF I ATTEND A NEVADA PUBLIC COLLEGE, UNIVERSITY OR 

COMMUNITY COLLEGE? 
 
NPT will pay the full amount of your in-state undergraduate credit hour charges (called 
registration fees by the institutions) on a semester-by-semester basis.  There is no 
dollar amount placed on the contract that was purchased.  The contract is only 
measured in terms of credit hours.  A typical course load is considered to be 15 credit 
hours per semester, therefore, it is estimated that one year of college (two semesters) is 
equal to 30 credit hours.  NPT will pay the number of credit hours you take each 
semester up to the maximum number of credit hours on your contract. 
 
 
HOW MUCH WILL NPT PAY IF I ATTEND AN OUT-OF-STATE PUBLIC OR PRIVATE COLLEGE OR 

UNIVERSITY? 
 
If you attend a private or out-of-state institution, NPT will pay the same rate per credit 
hour charged by an in-state Nevada public institution for semester-based credit hours.   
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/


 6 

MAY NPT BENEFITS BE USED DURING SUMMER TERMS? 
 
The credit hours may be used in any combination during the school year, including 
summer term, up to the maximum number of credit hours available on the contract. 
However, it is the student’s responsibility to inform the NPT if the student will not be 
enrolling for an upcoming semester by having the purchaser submit a Deferment of 
Benefits Form. 
 
 
WHAT FEES ARE COVERED BY MY NPT ACCOUNT? 
 
The program is designed to cover only credit hour registration fees on your behalf each 
academic term you enroll.  NPT does not cover housing, room and board, new student, 
recycling, health, technology, lab, surcharges or any other fees your school may 
assess. 
 
 
I NEED TO SEND IN A DEPOSIT TO HOLD MY PLACE IN THE ENTERING CLASS.  HOW WILL THIS 

PAYMENT AFFECT NPT BENEFITS? 
 
Some schools require a non-refundable deposit when the student accepts an offer of 
admission.  If the school applies the deposit to tuition, your contract should show a 
credit balance after the NPT payment is made.  This credit can be applied to mandatory 
fees or expenses not covered by NPT or handled according to your school’s refund 
policy.   
 
 
WILL I RECEIVE ANYTHING TO LET ME KNOW WHAT WAS PAID TO THE SCHOOL I AM ATTENDING? 
 
Yes.  As a qualified 529 tuition program, NPT is required by federal law to report this 
information to you.  An IRS 1099-Q form will be mailed to you at the end of January for 
each tax year distributions are made to a school on your behalf.   
 
Each year an annual statement will be sent to the purchaser of the contract showing the 
utilization of credit hours. The purchaser may also view account information online, 
including payments distributed, at NVPrepaid.gov.  
 
At anytime, however, you may contact us toll free at 1-888-477-2667 to check on the 
status of your NPT contract. 
 
 
HOW WILL MY NPT BENEFITS AFFECT MY APPLICATION FOR FINANCIAL AID? 
 
NPT benefits are considered an asset of the contract owner.  Assuming the contract 
owner is the student’s parent, benefits are reported on the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA).  FAFSA is the application most colleges and universities use for 
determining need-based financial aid eligibility.   
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For details or additional information concerning the effect that your NPT contract will 
have on your eligibility for need-based financial aid, please contact the financial aid 
office of the school you plan to attend. 
 
 
CAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE BENEFITS BE APPLIED TO A FOUR-YEAR COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY, 
AND VICE-VERSA? 
 
Yes.  NPT will pay even when you attend a school that was not your selected plan type.  
For instance, if you have a Two-Year Community College Plan and attend a four-year 
university, NPT will pay the university the credit hour rate for the community college and 
you would make up the difference.  If you have a Four-Year University Plan and attend 
a community college, NPT will pay the community college rate.  Upon completion of 
your schooling, the purchaser may request a refund of the remaining balance pursuant 
to the Nevada College Savings Board current policy. 
 
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF I RECEIVE A MILLENNIUM SCHOLARSHIP? 
 
Your NPT account and the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship are completely 
compatible and work together to cover the qualified expenses associated with higher 
education.  You may use the NPT funds to pay for your credit hour costs and your 
Millennium Scholarship funds to pay for fees, books, course materials, etc.  As a 
Millennium Scholar you may utilize your scholarship benefits at any eligible Nevada 
institution of higher education.  If you have questions regarding utilizing both your NPT 
benefits and the Millennium Scholarship, please contact us toll free at 1-888-477-2667 
or the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship office at (702) 486-3383. 
 
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF I RECEIVE A FULL OR PARTIAL SCHOLARSHIP? 
 
If you accept a scholarship that covers the full cost of your tuition which renders your 
NPT contract unusable, the purchaser of your contract may change the beneficiary or 
receive a refund of 100% of the amount of contract payments paid.   
 
If you accept a partial scholarship specifically designated for tuition, the purchaser of the 
contract may receive a refund equal to the amount of the partial scholarship.  Proof of 
the full or partial scholarship must be submitted in the form of a copy of the letter 
received from the granting foundation in order for the cancellation fee to be waived.  
Several options are available under these circumstances; please refer to the master 
agreement on our website, NVPrepaid.gov for more information.   
 
 
WHAT IF I TRANSFER TO A DIFFERENT SCHOOL FOR MY SECOND SEMESTER OR IN SUBSEQUENT 

YEARS? 
 
NPT pays benefits on a semester-by-semester basis, so you will be able to apply your 
benefits to the new school.  You must notify us as soon as possible if you are planning 
to transfer so that we will have time to make payment arrangements with the new 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/
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school. Please submit an Intent to Enroll Form 60 days prior to the beginning of the 
new semester. If your decision is made closer than 60 days to the beginning of the 
semester, please call our office to inform us so that we can work with you to stop 
payments to one school and set up payments to another.  To expedite your form please 
fax or e-mail a copy of the signed form to the NPT Office, as soon as possible.  
An additional fee of $25 will be assessed for each transfer to a private/out-of-state 
institution. 
 
You are responsible for notifying us of your intent to transfer by filling out a new 
Intent to Enroll Form.  A new form can be obtained by downloading it from our website 
at NVPrepaid.gov or by calling us toll-free at 1-888-477-2667.  
 
 
THE BENEFICIARY IS STARTING COLLEGE BEFORE HIS OR HER PROJECTED ENROLLMENT YEAR.  
HOW DO I ACTIVATE PROGRAM BENEFITS? 
 
The contract may be utilized up to two years prior to the projected enrollment date if the 
child is a senior or graduates from high school early and if the contract has been paid in 
full.  The purchaser of the contract must provide written notice to the program at least 
60 days prior to the new matriculation date. 
 
 
DOES THE PURCHASE OF A NPT CONTRACT GUARANTEE THE BENEFICIARY ADMISSION TO A 

SCHOOL? 
 
No.  The purchase of a NPT contract does not guarantee beneficiaries admission to any 
school.  Educational institutions have differing admission standards, depending on the 
number of spaces available for incoming freshmen and the number of applications 
submitted for those spaces.  We suggest you check with the schools to determine their 
admission requirements.  
 
 
DOES THE PURCHASE OF A NPT CONTRACT GUARANTEE THE BENEFICIARY CONTINUED 

ENROLLMENT IN AN INSTITUTION? 
 
No, it is the student’s responsibility to maintain the academic standards of their chosen 
institution.  Education benefits under the Nevada Prepaid Tuition Program contracts are 
conditioned upon the beneficiary’s acceptance to and continued enrollment at a college 
or university.  The Program does not guarantee acceptance or continued enrollment. 
 
 
WHAT IF I STILL HAVE CREDIT HOURS REMAINING WHEN I GRADUATE? 
 
If you still have credit hours in your NPT contract when you graduate from college, you 
have several options for the remaining amount.  You may apply them to additional 
undergraduate course work, the purchaser of the contract may request a refund 
according to the terms of the master agreement, or the purchaser may request that the 
remaining amount be rolled over tax free into a 529 College Savings Plan account.  The 
529 College Savings Plan will allow you to then use these monies toward post-graduate 
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work or other qualified educational expenses.  To find out more about a 529 College 
Savings Plan account, please visit the Treasurer’s website at NevadaTreasurer.gov or 
call toll-free 1-888-477-2667. 
 
 
DO NPT CONTRACTS COVER THE COST OF GRADUATE SCHOOL? 
 
No.  The contract only covers the cost of attending an undergraduate institution.  Funds 
in a 529 College Savings Plan account may be used to cover the cost of post-graduate 
studies. 
 
 
IF A BENEFICIARY WITH A CONTRACT USES ONLY A PORTION OF THE CONTRACT, MAY THE 

REMAINDER BE TRANSFERRED TO A SIBLING? 
 
No.  Once contract benefits are paid on behalf of the beneficiary, the contract is no 
longer transferable. 
 
 
HOW CAN I GET MORE INFORMATION? 
 
Visit our website at NVPrepaid.gov or call us toll free at 1-888-477-2667. 
 
 
 

Requirement Checklist: 
 

 Contract paid in full – including any outstanding fees 
 
 Submit Intent to Enroll Form – if using benefits at a particular 

school 
 
 Submit Deferment of Benefits Form – if not using benefits at 

this time 
 
 Submit payment for $25 private/out of state usage fee – only if 

using benefits at a school that is not part of the Nevada System 
of Higher Education 

 
 Submit remaining amounts owed to school by their deadline   
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

April 2012 

 


